My Open Source Journey: Learning and Growing

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Table of Contents:

  1. Introduction

  2. The Animation Challenge

  3. Understanding Motion Safe

  4. A helpful exchange

  5. Git

  6. Conclusion

Hey, everyone! I've decided to start sharing my journey through the open-source world. While this article may be short, I believe there are valuable lessons to be learned. Consider this a snapshot of my adventures in open source, chronicled in this blog.

The Animation Challenge:

So yesterday, I made a pull request to add motion-safe animations to a project. Now, you might be wondering, what exactly is "motion-safe"? Motion-safe animations ensure a smooth user experience, especially for people with vestibular disorder." Vestibular disorders affect the vestibular system, which is responsible for balance and spatial orientation. Some vestibular disorders can lead to issues with motion sensitivity, including vertigo, dizziness, and discomfort when exposed to motion.

Getting Started with Tailwind CSS:

For this task, I chose to use Tailwind CSS, inside tailwind.config.js i added the motion-safe:animate-pulse class to animate elements smoothly.

A Helpful Exchange:

However, my initial pull request didn't go as planned. The project maintainer provided constructive feedback. They recommended using media queries for animations instead of adding classes directly. Moreover, my Prettier formatter was automatically adding colons to the code, which wasn't in line with the project's style guide. They suggested reverting these changes.

A Lesson in Git Protocol:

Here's where things got interesting. My instinct to bypass protocol kicked in. Instead of going back to the branch I had initially created (let's call it "demo"), I went to the "main" branch and ran git checkout -b demo-2. Essentially, I created a new branch off the main, which I hadn't altered, to make the necessary corrections. I admit, it was a somewhat lazy move.

Learning from Mistakes:

The maintainers reached out to me, advising that I close the "demo-2" pull request. Apparently, it's not possible to create another pull request for the same repository when you've already created one. This was a moment of reflection, reminding me to follow best practices and the proper Git workflow.

Closing a PR:

I had to go back and figure out how to close a pull request. A quick YouTube video tutorial came to the rescue. It turned out to be quite simple: navigate to the pull request, click on it, locate the "Close pull request" button, and click it. Voilà! Problem solved.

Conclusion:

So, that's a snippet from my ongoing journey in open source. I've learned that open source isn't just about coding; it's also about collaboration, learning from mistakes, and adhering to best practices. Until next time, keep coding, keep contributing, and keep learning!

If you have any questions feel free to ask in the comment below, I will be more than glad to attend to them.